Nine African Societies of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Sign the Helsinki Declaration

Nine African Societies of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Sign the Helsinki Declaration

  • Issue 63

Walid Habre | ESA Board Member

The dawn of 2016 c18.walidelebrated another great step towards harmonising practices in healthcare globally. During the opening ceremony of the 29th congress of the Moroccan Society of Anaesthesia and Intensive care (SMAR) in Marrakech in January 2016, nine African societies signed and committed to implementing the Helsinki Declaration on Patient Safety in Anaesthesiology. The initiative and encouragement came from the Moroccan Society and in particular society’s energetic President, Prof Ahmed Rhassane El Adib. Morocco and Nigeria were the first societies from the African continent to officially commit to the Helsinki Declaration on Patient Safety in Anaesthesiology in June 2015 during Euroanaesthesia.

The nine African societies who have followed Morocco’s lead and example are:

SARANF (Société d’Anesthésie-Réanimation d’Afrique Noire Francophone) – French Speaking African Society

STAAR (Société Tunisienne d’Anesthésie, d’Analgésie et de Réanimation) – Tunisian Society

SAARSIU (Société Algérienne d’Anesthésie – Réanimation, de Soins Intensifs et des Urgences) – Society of Algeria

SMARMU (Société Mauritanienne d’Anesthésie -Réanimation et de Médecine d’Urgence) – Society of Mauritania

SGAAR -MU (Société Gabonaise d’Analgésie, d’Anesthésie, de Réanimation et de Médecine d’Urgence) – Society of Gabon

SARMU-Mali (Société d’Anesthésie – Réanimation et de Médecine d’Urgence du Mali) – Society of Mali

SARMU-B (Société d’Anesthésie Réanimation et de Médecine d’Urgence du Burkina) – Society of Burkina

SOSEAR (Société Sénégalaise d’Anesthésie-Réanimation et de Médicine d’Urgence) – Society of Senegal

SCAR (Société Congolaise d’Anesthésie Réanimation Urgences) – Society of Congo

All the Societies’ representatives spoke of the importance of this engagement for their Society and their country and confirmed that this document will help in the national and local implementation of the main points of the Helsinki Declaration in the improvement patient safety and patient outcome.

A scientific session dedicated to Education and Patient Safety followed the ceremony. Three lectures were given by Dr David Wilkinson, President of the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists (WFSA), Prof Walid Habre, ESA Board member on behalf of the European Society of Anaesthesiology, and Dr David Whitaker, Chair of the Patient Safety and Quality Committee of the European Board of Anaesthesiology.


In parallel to this event, the SMAR launched the first recommendations by Morocco on safety practice in anaesthesia, a concrete achievement less than one year after the adoption of the Helsinki Declaration by the SMAR. Prof El Adib and Prof C. El Kettani El Hamidi presented the key contents of the SMAR’s referential and the characteristics of the declaration in a dedicated session. The SMAR has also initiated its first Patient Safety Committee, led by Prof Badreddine Hmamouchi from Casablanca.

Last but not least, the SMAR also launched the Moroccan Board of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, Collège Marocain d’Anesthésie-Réanimation (CMAR). The president of the CMAR, Prof Abderrahim Azzouzi, Dean of the Medical Faculty of Oujda, presented their goals:

  • Unifying programme for residency in the five medical schools in Morocco and introducing new concepts in education and evaluation
  • Unifying courses in first aid, emergency medicine and critical care courses for undergraduate medical students in family medicine
  • Starting the reflexion about a project of certification and recertification for postgraduate education

In this context, the ESA made a presentation about the content and the value of the European Diploma in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care (EDAIC) and is discussing the possibility of opening a first EDAIC examination centre in Morocco.