ESA Honorary Members

  • Issue 62

Daniela Filipescu | ESA President

The ESA Board of Directors awards Honorary Membership to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to anaesthesiology or have served the society with distinction. In 2015 Prof Filipescu, ESA President, was honoured to bestow Honorary Membership upon Prof Olav Sellevold and Prof Schulte am Esch.

4.honoraryProf Sellevold graduated from the Medical School of Bergen in Norway in 1974 and started the clinical career as anaesthesiologist in 1981.

Prof Sellevold gained his PhD in 1990 and has been Professor of Anaesthesiology and Intensive care since 1996. He practiced mainly in Trondheim and Bergen where he was Director of Cardiac Anaesthesia and Intensive Care and Chairmen of the Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care, respectively.

His fields of interest and research areas includecardiac anaesthesia, myocardial protection, regional anaesthesia, general anaesthesia, monitoring, intensive care and pain relief; clinical physiology of postoperative situation and cardiac echocardiography

Prof Sellevold has published over 60 original peer-reviewed papers, books and public papers on professional behaviour. He contributed substantially to Norwegian, UEMS and ESA guidelines. He has lectured extensively all over Europe as well as in the US and he has been a member of the Editorial Boards of many anaesthesia journals.

Prof Sellevold was President of the Norwegian Society of Anaestheisa and Intensive Care and member of the Board of directors of the Scandinavian Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive care medicine, Founding member and President of the European Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesiologists, President elect of CENSA and thereafter member of the interim Board of the new ESA, member of the Nomination Committee of the ESA, Chairman of the National Anaesthesiologists Societies Committee and member of the ESA Board of directors.

Prof Sellevold was awarded Academician of the European Academy of Anaesthesiology, Honorary Member of European Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesiologists and Norwegian Society of Anaesthesiology and was elected member of the Royal Norwegian Society of Science and Letters.

In 2005 the three European anaethesiology societies joined forces into one strong society. As Honorary Treasurer and President Elect of CENSA he was also deeply involved in the discussion and planning of the amalgamation processs. Although the 3 organisations amalgamated on equal footing he stepped aside and agreed on the appointment of interim Presidents of the new ESA from only the old ESA and EAA leadership.

Prof Filipescu first met Prof Sellevold 23 years ago during an EACTA meeting. They worked together in the NASC where he actively supported missions for national societies that were less well off. One of the many successful projects was co-organisation of the First International Medical Congress in Moldova.

Prof Sellevold suggested organising a ESA scientific network to perform multi centre European studies. This was to be followed later by the launch of the ESA Clinical Trial Network in 2010 under the presidency of Prof Paolo Pelosi and the ESA Research Committee, Prof Andreas Hoeft.

Professor and Doctor Honoris Causa Jochen Schulte am Esch

Prof Filipescu was honoured on behalf of the ESA Board and Council to award Prof Sellevold lifetime Honorary Member status of the ESA in recognition of his outstanding services to ESA. Thank you for your contribution to the success of ESA.


Prof Schulte am Esch graduated from the Medical School of Bonn “magna cum laude”.

He then began a clinical and academic career becoming a consultant anesthesiologist in 1973, Professor of Anaesthesia in 1980 and Professor emeritus in 2005.

From 1982 to his retirement he was the chairman and director of the Department of Anaesthesia at the University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf, Germany.

Prof Schulte am Esch has published over 300 scientific papers in national and international journals (in particular Anesthesiology, Anesthesia & Analgesia, British Journal of Anaesthesia, Acta Anaesthesiologica Scandinavica, Intensive Care Medicine, European Journal of Anaesthesiology); 42 Editorials in national and international journals; contributed to 75 books and edited 30 congress proceedings and text books.

He has lectured extensively both in Germany and abroad, including Romania, and was the Editor in chief of the Journal Anaesthesie, Intensivetherapie Noftalmediczin Schmerztherapie.

His major fields of scientific interest are Influences of anaesthetics on the central sympathetic nervous system; Central nervous system monitoring in anaesthesia and intensive care; Experimental and clinical research on malignant hyperthermia; Transoesophageal Doppler Echocardiography in anaesthesia and intensive care; Investigations on artificial oxygen carriers in animal experiments and patient studies; Investigations on the molecular action of intravenous anaesthetics.

Professor Schulte am Esch has made significant contribution to anaesthesiology through several national and European societies and held many positions in these societies. He was President of theWorld Society of Pain Clinicians (1990-1992), was very involved with the European Academy of Anaesthesiology, beginning with membership in   in 1986, becoming an in and a Senator in 1994. Prof Schulte am Esch was Senator of the European Academy of Anaesthesiology during the amalgamation process of the three European anaesthesiology societies and played a pivotal role in the success of the union.

He was elected President of the German Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine in 1997.

Prof Schulte am Esch has been a member of the German National Academy of Science since 1998. He holds several honorary awards: Honorary Membership of the Romanian Society of Anaesthesia and Intensive care (1998), Honorary doctorate from the University of Cluj Napoca, Romania (2001), and Honorary membership of the German Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care medicine(2005).

Throughout his prestigious career Professor Schulte am Esch has invested much of his time and interest into postgraduate training of anaesthesiologists. For many years, he served as examiner for the EDAIC in Strasbourg. Little did he know that 23 years ago he was part of the examination team who tested the knowledge in anaesthesiology of today’s ESA President, Prof Filipescu!

It was with the greatest pleasure that Prof Filipescu awarded Prof Schulte am Esch with the lifetime Honorary Member status of the ESA. It is a privilege for the ESA and for our discipline to count Prof Schulte am Esch amongst its most eminent and distinguished members.